Suki-tte li na yo. (Review)(Podcast Version)

This anime first aired in 2012. So yes it is a few years old now, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give it a try. I found this anime when I was on AniList trying to find new animes to watch. I was also trying to get all the animes that I have ever watched down on my anime list on that site. So here is the plot.

Mei Tachibana has spent her 16 years without a boyfriend or friends. One day, she injures the most popular boy in school, Yamato Kurosawa, due to a misunderstanding. For some reason though, it seems that he takes a liking to her and one-sidedly claims that they’re friends. Furthermore, he not only protects Mei from a stalker, but does so with a kiss…?!!

(Source: Karma Falls Scanlation)

Alright now I will watch the first episode and then tell you all what I think. For some reason I am getting an Ao Haru Ride (or Blue Spring Ride) feeling from this anime. Although that anime was a little different from this anime. Hmm this anime has really gotten my attention. Aww Mei said hi to her cat Marshmallow and its a white cate so cute! It seems like Mei’s dad might be dead or not in the picture. We will find out I guess. Wow some of the high school girls in this anime are really mean.

I love how this anime has some of the voice actors from Clannad’s Dub Cast. When you know which voice actor did another character from an anime that you know. Well that’s when you know you have watched to much lol. Back to the anime we go. Awww I feel for Mei she has gotten hurt by people, and they claimed to be her friends. Now she wants nothing more than to be alone. So no one can hurt her like that again.

Omg this also has Clannad written all over it lol. Very interesting our main character, Yamato has taken an interest in Mei. I wonder how things will go and which direction it will take? Uh oh seems like Mei has a stalker now very interesting. Yamato won’t give up on trying to be her friend. Mei has spilt the beans ladies and gentleman.

Awww Yamato is coming to her rescue. This is so adorable and awww I have fallen in love with this anime. Well that is the end of the episode.

Okay so another day and another episode. I bet you have a question. Do I ever get tired of watching anime? No. Sometimes I can go a month or two without watching anime, but that’s only if I get really involved in a book or something else.

Back to this review. I really love the opening it’s definitely different from any other OP I have heard. Omg there was this one scene and I almost spit out my coffee lol. Wow that caught me off guard. Was not expecting that. Some new things are developing and brewing. Omg how she described his kiss was that it tasted like fried chicken.

That’s the first time I have heard that one lol. Glad I got a side of romance and comedy and I can’t wait to see the next episode. If you all can’t tell I am really enjoying this anime a lot and that’s a good thing.

It’s that time for another episode of this anime. Are you excited to hear what happens? Well hopefully you are, because I am really curious to see where this goes. In the last episode Yamato and Mei had a huge kissing scene. That was the part where I mentioned I almost spit out my coffee, because it had caught me off guard.

Omg this is also funny and yet it can be serious. Mei is finally going out on a date with a guy. You can probably guess who at this point. Well at the moment she is very flustered and I don’t blame her. Going out on a date especially if you aren’t comfortable enough with the person. Well it can be awkward as all heck.

Back to the review now. I wonder how their date will go? Awww she was 20 mins late. Wow that is a new record. Omg her mom just found out that she has a date. Her mother’s reaction is funny and now Mei is trying to deny it lol. Omg Yamato just told Mei that she is his girlfriend. Awwww major cuteness overload right now and this highly adorable. Wow some of the girls in this anime are so mean.

If I could I probably would punch them right about now. Honestly it’s not okay to be mean to someone. It’s just wrong plain and simple. Wow this girl took advantage of Yamato and his kindness. Now that’s just low. Awww their date went really well and they ended it with a kiss. So cute!

Ready to jump into another episode? I am after taking a short minute break and to help me think a bit more. It’s rare for me to get writer’s block I just need to do something else for a minute. Back to this review.

Well Yamato has given Mei a bracelet as the symbol of their love and omg that is so cute! I am sorry for using that a lot, but it’s really is cute though. Aww so cute and a little nice serenade and then Mei slaps Yamato, because she said it was creepy. Hmm things just got very interesting. I am curious to see where things will go. It seems Yamato is being very protective of his girlfriend. I am hoping things will go the way I am thinking they will end up. Although the authors always like to throw us curveballs.

Sometimes I dislike those curveballs so much, but that’s how they wrote the story though. Omg I just got cuteness overload. I really like the fact that there all these girls who have issues and Yamato has helped them in some way. Mei even stood up for one even though she was mean to her. Wow things are getting really interesting.

If you are still tagging along with me as I watch this anime and write the reviews for them. Then let me say thank you. I appreciate the fact that all of you who are still reading my reviews are here to read them. So again thank you.

Well let’s get to the episode in this review. Shall we? Aww now they are talking about a cat. Omg this so freaking cute to see Yamato freak out, because of a cat. Let me say that this cat is so cute. Honestly I love cats and I really miss having one. Due to certain reasons I can’t have one and it really sucks. Anyways let’s get back to the review.

Yamato is showing and talking about his new cat and I think he named it Kuro. I couldn’t quite make out what he said. Hopefully I am right lol and if not then I will find out the cats name eventually. I feel sorry for Marshmallow haha being trapped in a bag. Mei and the cat (sorry I don’t know if it’s a girl or boy) are on their way to Yamato’s house. Wonder what will happen?

Lol it’s Mei’s first time in a boy’s bedroom and her reaction is a bit funny :P. Aww poor Marshmallow. Mei tripped and then the cat fell to the floor and meowed angrily. Awww this is rather cute and also has me laughing my butt off. Well just a little lol. Well we get to meet Yamato’s little sister. We also learn more about her and she is much like Mei, but younger.

The thing that I have noticed is that they having matching cats lol. On top of also having matching bracelets.

Okay let’s jump into this thing shall we? So I am on episode six right now and now I need to get to watching it. There is a huge new development and I am really curious to see where it goes. I wonder if this new girl will tear Mei and Yamato apart? Mei doesn’t seem to thrilled about the new girl. Seems like she might be sad and hurt about what’s happening in front of her very eyes. I wonder if she is scared that she might lose Yamato?

Mei is trying to make good cookies for Yamato and this really brings back memories for me. Aww the painful memories. Anyways let’s get back to the episode. Omg I want to cry. She is faking a smile so that she can let Yamato do a male modeling gig. I hate the new girl. She is destroying everything between Mei and Yamato. I can only hope it won’t be the end of things. *sobs in a corner*. This is so hard to watch, cause I really want to cry.

Mei’s heart is slowly breaking and the pain is just painted all over her face. I feel for her. Nothing hurts more than a breaking and broken heart.

Onward to this new anime review for this series. Well Yamato was only going to do one shoot, but now people are wanting to see more of him. These spells trouble for Mei. We already seen her crying on the set of his first photo shoot. She was crying, because of all the comments people were making.  I wonder what will happen? Aww Mei is waiting on a text from Yamato. I wonder if he will text her or not? I’m totally going to cry right now. Okay I am crying now. Omg I thought things were going to end in disaster, but this is so beautiful. Wow was not expecting that at all. Well that is all for that episode.

So in the last episode Mei took things into her own hands and kissed Yamato in the hall in front of everyone. How this will affect things? I am glad to see things might be going back to normal. Well it might not go back to normal. I think I am going to cry again. Looks like Mei is starting to become more like a girl. I am really liking this new development.

Rumors are terrible. Okay I am literally crying. Not joking. This is such a tear jerker. Although that’s what I think makes it good. When an anime moves you then the people who did the anime are doing a good job.

Okay so when you watch this anime I am sure that you will probably cry.

In the last episode Mei’s bracelet, the one Yamato gave her it broke and fell to the ground in pieces. She is then seen crying. While Yamato is searching for her everywhere after one of her friends told him about the article. That Megu-chan said in an interview about him. Although I now think that things might go back to normal.

Well hopefully. Perfect timing Mei’s mom lol just when things were getting good haha. Well things took a turn and I wonder how things will turn out. An old friend of Yamato’s has shown up. He seems to like his girlfriend, Mei. Hmmm things have gotten interesting. I wonder how things will go in the next episode? Hmm new things have developed.

That witch. I want to kill her for trying to steal Yamato from Mei. They are happy and you should not mess with that. I want the witch’s heart to be broken. I am sorry, but I really like Mei and Yamato together. So we learn more about the witch, Megu-chan. Even with her sad back story I still don’t like her. Awww now Mei feels like everyone is turning their backs on her and she’s scared. Omg this episode ended beautifully.

I feel as though things are about to get interesting. So the romance builds. Things are getting so exciting, hmmm I am really curious now. I really want to see where things will go. Yamato’s little sister has entered the scene. She’s so adorable and aww and it’s so sweet that she wanted to see Mei-chan. Omg this excitement might just kill me lol. Well it looks like something happened to the witch. Now I feel bad. I wonder what happened to her?

Well now after this episode it’s all over. I wonder what will happen in the end? Will the witch be okay? Does she get what she wanted after all? It seems like Mei is on her way and maybe she can help the witch. Okay maybe Megu isn’t such a witch anymore, but I still don’t like the fact that she messed with Mei and Yamato’s relationship the way she did. Things are very interesting right now and I don’t want this anime to end.

So here we are down to the final episode. I don’t want this anime to end, because I love it so much. Push the button Mei. Push it lol. They finally meet after Yamato was running all around town looking for her. On top of that his phone dies lol. Talk about bad luck or what. Well they finally met up and everything ended up how I thought it would. Although I have to wonder if they ever get married and have kids. I am going to be asking myself that question forever.

There may be more answers in the manga so maybe I will look it up and read it. Anyways that was it for that episode and now to close this anime is the OVA to this series. Which will be in the next blog. Sorry folks you will have to wait and see what the OVA is all about in another blog post. I think I know the reason why this had a Ao Haru Ride feeling to it, because the artwork is almost the same.

Even the characters are almost a like. No wonder it felt a little like Ao Haru Ride. Except that Ao Haru Ride first aired in 2015, and the main guy in that anime isn’t a model lol. Although the main guy in that anime also has his problems, and same goes for the girl. Anyways I hope that you will watch this anime. So please give it a try.

Review on Suki-tte li na yo’s. OVA
It’s very different from going to from dubbed to the subbed. Lol I will get used to it again. Well that’s it for the OVA. As you would expect it was short and there was only one thing notable. Yamato said to Mei that she might be the reason that he can look at things better. I can really tell that they were meant to be together. Even though in the first place she didn’t want any friends, and wanted to be alone. I am really happy with how things turned out in the end. It’s so beautiful and romantic.

Now I can finally bring this series of reviews to an end. Although I am sad that it ended, because I rather enjoyed this anime. Of course it was a shoujo, but it shouldn’t matter the type of genre it is. If someone enjoys that anime then that’s a good thing, but it can be hard to let go of a series that you enjoy. Well now I have to find another anime once again. Thank you all to tagged along on this journey. I hope you all had fun reading these reviews as I did writing them.

Now I hope that you will continue to read my reviews. Without further a do the verdict. What kind of recommendation do I have for this anime? I give it a high recommendation so go and watch it. Yes you might cry a little, but it’s good to be moved every once in awhile. Also I want to say thank you all for reading my reviews.

The reason I keep doing them, is because of you guys. Plus it’s also, because of my love for anime, and I want people to know about certain animes. So again thank you. Until my next blog post keep reading manga, and watching anime. Stay cool guys and girls.

Leave a comment