Genesis of Aquarion (Review)

In a distant future, humanity once again is facing the threat of the “Shadow Angels.” Mystical creatures who returned after 12,000 years of absence. They attack human cities and kidnap their inhabitants in order to drain their “prana” (vital energy). To fight against them, youngsters with special powers from around the world were gathered and trained to pilot the “vector machines,” three ancient ships that together form mankind’s ultimate weapon, “Aquarion.” The story revolves mainly around Apollo, a teenager rumored as the reincarnation of Apolonius, a fallen angel who fought against his own kind to protect mankind. Few believe it could be true, but the fact is that despite his untamed and reckless nature, he proved to be an invaluable asset in the battle against the Shadow Angels.

Now that we have covered the plot on to the review. I admit this anime looks old but it’s really good and different. Unlike the usual culprits in most Mecha anime, this one is some what a different breed all on it’s own. Of course you also need romance. Not all Mecha animes have romance, but honestly when they don’t it feels like somethings is missing. How is the hero/heroine supposed to fight, when there is no one to fight for that you love? So I really liked this anime, even when it’s first airing was in 2005. I then went on watched the sequels to this anime, but as always that’s for another time. I really give this anime a high recommendation even if it’s old. I am also going to say that I will not watch anything older than 2000’s. I am sorry but the graphics and animation aren’t the best. I know, I know some of you probably grew up on that type of anime. Honestly though it kills my eyes and rather bothers me. If an anime makes me feel annoyed there is a chance I am not going to watch it, and it will receive a bad review from me. So I’m sorry but I just can’t. Anyways give this anime a chance. You might like it even if it’s old. Until my next blog post, keep watching anime and stay cool. I hope that you will find love like in this anime.

 

Leave a comment